Lenny

Lydbog
 
111,58  DKK
A magical tale of family, loss and the healing power of the imagination and hope.

In the Ubari Sand Sea in 2011, during the First Libyan Civil War, a mysterious pilot falls from the sky – a sky devil - and makes a home with the family of the little boy who rescues him.

A year later, Roseville, Louisiana is faced with the threat of the ever-rising water levels, in the aftermath of economic crisis and corporate environmental damage. 10-year-old Lenny Lockhart is losing the people and the things dearest to him. His only friends now are his elderly but plucky neighbour, Miss Julie, and the town’s lonely librarian, Lucy Albert. His mother has left, and his father is back but damaged after his time in the military.

Homeless and neglected, Lenny heads into the dark depths of the Bayou, determined to defeat the sinkhole that is threatening to swallow his town whole. In a race against time, who is it that really needs saving? Is it Lenny, the town, or the broken adults in his life?

As these two timelines collide, Lenny tells the deeply touching tale of family and love and the different paths to kindness.

A modern reimagining of The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, perfect for fans of Christy Leftheri, Khaled Hosseini and Markus Zusak.

‘From Libya to Louisiana, Lenny is a fearless and hugely imaginative novel that perfectly captures the essence of a troubled childhood.’ - Christine Dwyer Hickey

"At the centre of this novel is a little boy so kind and courageous, so funny and warm he's literally going to break your heart. McVeigh's storytelling takes her readers on a journey that effortlessly spans time, geography and reality itself. She asks big questions about community, belonging and what makes a real family. - Jan Carson


"At the centre of this novel is a little boy so kind and courageous, so funny and warm he’s literally going to break your heart. McVeigh’s storytelling takes her readers on a journey which effortlessly spans time, geography and reality itself. She asks big questions about community, belonging and what makes a real family." – JAN CARSON

‘Lenny is a beautiful novel that beguiles the reader with its cast of characters, damaged, quirky and full of humanity, its deep sense of place and connections to a wider universe. Laura McVeigh’s writing is a luminous and sharply observed depiction of loneliness and the redemptive power of love. Lenny continues to shine long after the novel ends.’ —LAURA McKENNA
Laura McVeigh is a Northern Irish writer and novelist, who has previously been featured in Hollywood’s Top 100 New Writers Young and Hungry List. She is an alumna of both the Royal Court Theatre Young Writers’ Programme and Writers’ Programme, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts. Her past experience includes working on peace and conflict issues, environmental issues and human rights work. Her 2017 debut novel 'Under the Almond Tree' was an international bestseller, published in ten territories and languages.
Udgave
Trykt sideantal
Udgivelsesdato18 mar. 2022
Udgivet afSAGA Egmont
Sprogeng
ISBN lydbog9788728129289
Nyheder i din indbakke
Tilmeld dig Libris nyhedsbrev
Tilmeld nu